Faculty and Staff

The faculty-major ratio in the Department of Philosophy is one of the strongest that you will find at the College, which means that your instructors will get to know you as an individual, and not just as a number. Because of the intimate and flexible nature of the program, all majors have a unique program of study designed to meet their specific needs and career goals. Most likely, you'll find that our faculty have expertise that matches your particular philosophical interests-Ancient, aesthetics, ethics, Continental, existentialism, etc.

Full-Time Faculty

Howard Ponzer

Howard Ponzer, Ph.D.
Professor
Chair
Department of Philosophy
hponzer@molloy.edu
516.323.3343

Dr. Ponzer has been a member of the Molloy College philosophy department since 2007. He regularly teaches courses in the history of philosophy. His present research interests are cosmopolitan moral theory, global citizenship, political philosophy and a re-thinking of the progressive left in the US.
Dr. Ponzer's bio.

Dr. Ponzer is a longtime advocate of the liberal arts model of education because its pedagogy, unlike other models, best prepares students for a successful professional career in our innovation and information driven economy, while also developing in them the characteristics of informed citizens of the world.

Michael S. Russo

Michael S. Russo, Ph.D.
Professor
516.323.3345
mrusso@molloy.edu

"To exist is to change, to change is to mature, to mature is to go on creating oneself endlessly." — Henri Bergson

Kimberly Engels

Kimberly S. Engels, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Advisor: Philosophy Club
516.323.3345
kengels@molloy.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Sister Janet Fitzgerald, O.P., Ph.D. (1935-2013)
Professor Emerita
Past President of Molloy College

Stephan Mayo

Stephan T. Mayo, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Past Department Chair
516.323.3342
smayo@molloy.edu

Part-Time Faculty:

Nancy Tuck
Adjunct Instructor
516.323.3340
ntuck@molloy.edu

Cassandra Evans

Andrew Garnett
Adjunct Instructor
516.323.3340
agarnett@molloy.edu

Joseph F. Marino, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor
516.323.3351
jmarino@molloy.edu

Rafael Macaranas, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
516.323.3340
rmacaranas@molloy.edu

Mark Murynec

Mark Murynec, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
516.323.3352
mmurynec@molloy.edu

Bartholomew Slaninka

Bartholomew Slaninka
bslaninka@molloy.edu

Staff:

      Kimberly Geary
Administrative Assistant
516.323-3342
kgeary@molloy.edu

Retired:

John Yanovitch       John Yanovitch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
516.323.3346
jyanovitch@molloy.edu

"Your life is none of your business." - Charlotte Joko Beck  

Contact Us

Have questions about anything here? Feel free to drop us a quick note!

Of course, feel free to Contact Us.

Philosophy
1079 Hempstead Avenue Rockville Centre, New York 11571-5002

516.323.3340

hponzer@molloy.edu