Grants for STEM Education Propel Learning at Molloy College

Edward Thompson, Vice President for Advancement and Ann Branchini, Vice President for Academic Affairs announced that Molloy College was recently awarded two large, prestigious and highly competitive National Science Foundation grants that will greatly benefit Molloy College students:

Molloy Awarded Prestigious GrantsUnder Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program, a 5-year grant expected to total $1,450,000 for Molloy's Noyce Ambassadors Program designed to recruit students majoring in math or science leading to 18 certified STEM teachers, two-thirds from underrepresented backgrounds, firstgeneration and/or bilingual (at least one-third). The program will offer large scholarships junior and senior years intensive curriculum; academic support; boot camps; paid internships, field-based experience and, professional development. Molloy will partner with Nassau Community College for recruitment and consultation and with four school districts, Freeport, Uniondale, Amityville and Brentwood, for clinical teaching experiences. Project team includes: Dr. Audrey Cohan, principal investigator (PI); co-PIs - Dr. Jodi Evans, Dr. John Tanacredi, and Dr. Deborah Upton; faculty associates - Dr. Allison Roda, Prof. Francine Wisnewski, and Dr. John Vargas; Dr. Sherry Radowitz, Director of Grants & Sponsored Programs as grants administrator; and, Nassau Community College partners - Diane Martin and Edmund Koeppel.

Under S-STEM, a 5-year grant expected to total $650,000 for Molloy's ASPIRE to Careers in Science program designed to encourage and support 20 talented students with financial need to pursue a course of study in Biology or Earth and Environmental Studies, earn undergraduate degrees in these scientific disciplines, and enter a career in the sciences. The program offers 4-year scholarships, academic support, mentoring, internships, early immersion in curriculum-embedded research, faculty-sponsored undergraduate research and enrichment activities. Project team includes: Dr. Maureen Sanz, principal investigator (PI); co-PIs - Dr. Noelle Cutter, Dr. Jodi Evans, Dr. John Tanacredi and Dr. Manyiu Tse; Dr. Audrey Cohan, internal assessment coordinator; Dr. Sherry Radowitz, Director of Grants & Sponsored Programs as grants administrator; Dr. Kathleen Maurer Smith and the Community Research Institute (CRI) as the project's evaluator. 

Contact Us

Have questions about anything here? Feel free to drop us a quick note!

Of course, feel free to Contact Us.

Public Relations
1000 Hempstead Avenue Kellenberg Hall, K-117 Rockville Centre, NY 11571-5002